British Weight Lifting

  • increase font size
  • Default font size
  • decrease font size

Paralympic Powerlifting

Powerlifting is one of the fastest growing Paralympics sports. At the 1992 Paralympic Games in Barcelona, 25 countries participated in the Powerlifting competition. That number more than doubled in 1996 at the Atlanta Paralympic Games with 58 countries in participation. Since 1996 that number has risen to a total worldwide membership of 115 countries with 5000 registered athletes on five continents!! This is a dramatic change from its humble beginnings in 1964 (second paralympic games) where only men were permitted to compete. Women competed for the first time at the Sydney Games in 2000 and at the 2008 games in Beijing, powerlifting was one of the most viewed sports at the paralympic games.


What is it? Please explain.....


The sport is adapted from none-disabled powerlifting, concentrating solely on the bench-press movement. The key aspect of the sport is simple; the person who lifts the most weight within their body weight category on the day of competition is deemed the winner. Many rules apply and under competition, 3 judges apply strict criteria in determining whether it is a good lift or not. Athletes must lower the bar to their chest, hold it motionless, and then press it upwards to arms length with locked elbows. An athlete gets 3 attempts on stage to lift their maximum weight. Powerlifting is a weight category sport meaning that there are medals to be won in 10 different categories depending your bodyweight.  These categories range from <48kg to 100+ kg for men, while for women, the lowest weight class is <40kg all the way up to 82.5+ kg.